EMT Recertification

Continuing education and training play a vital role in the delivery of quality EMS services and in the EMT recertification process. Every two years all Massachusetts EMTs must complete a pre-determined number of continuing education hours in pre-determined and elective courses in order to recertify. NorthEast EMS provides support and resources to many EMTs and Training Officers in Region III to help them navigate the recertification process.

In addition, NorthEast EMS serves as the Training Agency for EMTs who are not affiliated with an EMS service; authenticating their continuing education documentation and helping them successfully complete their recertification requirements.

Renew your EMT, Advanced EMT, or Paramedic Certification
Unaffiliated Region III EMTs Recertification Instructions

EMT Continuing Education Requirements for Recertification

See MA OEMS Administrative Requirement (AR 2-212) EMT Continuing Education Standards for more detailed information.

Following initial certification, it is each EMT’s responsibility to maintain and update their EMS education by taking continuing education courses that have been approved by the MA Office of Emergency Medical Services (OEMs) or the Commission on Accreditation for Pre-Hospital Continuing Education (CAPCE). All EMTs in Massachusetts are required to renew their certification every two years by completing the National Registry of EMT’s (NREMT) National Continued Competency Program (NCCP).

Overview of the National Continued Competency Program (NCCP)

In July 2013 Massachusetts adopted the U. S. Department of Transportation’s National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s (NHTSA) National EMS Scope of Practice Model (National Scope), NHTSA’s National EMS Education Standards, which sets training standards based on the National Scope, and the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians (NREMT) model for recertification, the National Continued Competency Program (NCCP).

The NCCP has three components for each level of certification:


Continued Competency Requirements (NCCR) are determined by the NREMT Board of Directors based upon data and input from EMS researchers, EMS physicians and EMS provider stakeholders, and comprises 50% of the overall requirements necessary to recertify.


Continued Competency Requirements (LCCR) are determined by State EMS Offices, EMS regions, and/or agency-level administrators. In Massachusetts, there are no required courses or content that must be taken at this time.


Continued Competency Requirements (ICCR) are determined by the individual provider.

DISTRIBUTIVE EDUCATION GUIDELINES: In accordance with AR 2-212, EMT Continuing Education Standards has been updated to match National Registry of EMTs (NREMT) policy, permitting EMTs whose certifications expire in 2022 to complete all of their continuing education via Distributive Education (DE), temporarily lifting the limits on DE for this cycle, due to the novel Coronavirus 2019 (COVID-19) outbreak.

Which continuing education courses are eligible for recertification?

EMS Continuing Education programs that meet recertification criteria must be approved by the Office of Emergency Medical Services (OEMS) and carry an OEMS Approval Number or approved by the Commission on Accreditation for Pre-Hospital Continuing Education (CAPCE) and have a valid CAPCE approval number. Course content eligible to be used by EMTs to meet continuing education requirements for recertification must be related to the delivery of patient care within the EMS scope of practice or within the defined roles and responsibilities of the EMT. ​All training must be based on the most current MA Statewide Treatment Protocols, NHTSA’s National EMS Education Standards, National EMS Core Content, and MA EMS laws, regulations, and administrative requirements.

Other health professional courses, college courses, or professional conferences that relate to EMS content that do not have OEMS or CAPCE approval may be eligible for Special Credit although there is no guarantee credit will be awarded. Applicants are required to complete the Special Credit Request Form. Be sure to read the eligibility criteria and requirements carefully.

Which courses are not eligible for recertification?

Courses that cannot be applied towards recertification requirements (regardless of CAPCE approval) include duplicate courses, clinical rotations, instructor courses, management/leadership courses, performance of duty as an EMT, preceptor or examiner, volunteer time with agencies, or training related to other aspects of employment or other certification and/or licensure. The purpose of EMS continuing education is for EMTs to update and maintain continued knowledge and competency in the scope of their EMT certification.

Where can I find EMS continuing education courses?

EMS Continuing Education may be offered through ambulance services, fire/police departments, hospitals, EMS educators, and Accredited Training Institutions. A list of approved continuing education courses may be obtained by contacting the MA Regional EMS Council offices. You can also see a list of approved courses in Region III here (see Region III approved Courses). Be sure to contact the Program Sponsor prior to attending to confirm the course details.

Be sure to obtain a Course Completion Certificate or a copy of the course roster.

You must keep valid documentation for each course you take as proof of course attendance and completion. The NREMT randomly audits recertification applications for quality assurance. You must retain verification of attendance of all education submitted for recertification for at least 36 months. A course completion certificate or an official OEMS roster are considered valid forms of documentation as long as it contains the name of the course, your name, date, and location of the course, the instructor’s name, the instructor’s signature, and the OEMS or CAPCE Approval Number.

Supporting and Serving Region III

Supporting and Serving Region III

NorthEast Emergency
Medical Services, Inc.
​110 Haverhill Rd.
Building C Suite 241

Amesbury, MA 01913
Office:  978-792-5477
Email:  neems@neems.org

NorthEast CMED
Lawrence General Hospital
1 General Street
Lawrence, MA   01842
CMED: 978-946-8130
Fax:     978-946-8139

Did you know?The National Suicide Hotline has a new number. You no longer have to remember a 1-800 number to call for help. Now all you have to remember is three numbers. 988 is the new National Suicide Hotline number. This number will get you through to a multitude of resources and get you the help you need. Share this number everywhere you can so people know how to call for help. www.samhsa.gov/find-help/988 See MoreSee Less
View on Facebook
Thank you Mike! You will be missed but enjoy your well deserved retirement!!This morning, Deputy Chief Michael McCadden finishes up his last shift after 32 years with the Beverly Fire Department. Congratulations on your retirement Mike! See MoreSee Less
View on Facebook

NorthEast CMED can be reached 24/7

978-946-8130 or 978-946-8131

© Northeast EMS 2021. All rights reserved. Website Design by Dingo Creative